Abraham Verghese: Well Said, Sir

First, let me apologize for my long absence and dearth of new posts. I have been in Ireland (twice) for a family emergency and bereavement (my Dad). As much as I love and feel comfortable in the blogosphere, I feel equally sure that this format would never do justice to my late father’s industry, resilience, honesty and humor. So I will not write about his death or his legacy here.

Speaking of resilience, I retuned to the U.S. to find this article by Abraham Verghese (“Cutting for Stone”) in the Washington Post  My  fellow author, Carolyn Bornstein sent it to me. Thank you.

Abraham Verghese, author of ‘Cutting for Stone,’ describes his writing life

I write by stealing time. The hours in the day have never felt as if they belonged to me. The greatest number has belonged to my day job as a physician and professor of medicine — eight to 12 hours, and even more in the early days. Lest it sound as if I resent my day job, I have to say that my day job is the reason I write, and it has been the best thing for me as a writer. Read the complete article here. 

About Aine Greaney

I'm an Irish writer living in greater Boston. I've published four books--two novels, a small collection of short stories and a how-to writing book, "Writer with a Day Job" (Writers Digest Books). I've also published lots of short stories, essays and feature articles. My latest project, "What Brought You Here" is a non-fiction narrative about being an expatriate in America. Find me on Twitter @ainegreaney. Or at my author web page, www.ainegreaney.com. As well as creative writing, I am the communications director for a healthcare non-profit. I also lead creative writing workshops at various libraries, schools and arts programs. At my workshops, I've been inspired by lots of wonderful writers--most of whom work a day job!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

